Free Will And Love.

Being a member of the Girl Guides has shaped my life in many ways, some very unexpected. During difficult times I find myself looking back at my time in the Guides: the carefree times, singing, guide camp, making lifelong friendships and learning about ourselves.
One campfire song that has stayed with me is the Song Of Kit.
The words are very powerful and strong; since Christmas they have taken on a meaning all of their own. The song confirms to me that the decisions I made over the last few months were right.
It’s not within me to turn away from someone in desperate need of help and love. Every person needs love even if they don’t understand what love is or have never had it.
Some adults and children may find love scary. When they feel loved the fear and the mistrust of past experiences surfaces and they reject it, only to stay in their place of safety without love.
It reminds me a little of how when I first prayed and felt God’s love how it was a little scary. Stepping out of my place of comfort as I trusted what I felt. This was backed up by my understanding of faith laid down as a child and experiences as an adult.
Never to have been loved and then to be loved by people that don’t abandon you may leave many with only one choice and that is to push those people and love away at any cost to protect themselves.
God made us with free will and it’s what we do with that free will is important and I choose to try and help someone find love and show them that people can be kind.

The Song Of Kit.

See a child standing there.
In the rubble and the dust.
He is standing all alone.
There is no-one he can trust.
The soldiers took his father.
And his mother ran away.
He’s a politician’s game
And he doesn’t want to play.

So take this child by the hand.
And lead him back to love.
Leave the fear and the misery behind.
Take this child by the hand.
And lead him back to love.
And show him that people can be kind.

See a child standing there.
With hunger in his eyes.
He is standing all alone.
While a nation slowly dies.
He knows that he is hungry.
But he doesn’t understand.
There are just too many people.
In that dry and barren land.

See a child standing there.
As he sees the world go by.
He is standing all alone.
And he’ll always wonder why.
When nations spend their millions.
On power and on might.
That he never had a chance.
To learn to read and write.

image

One thought on “Free Will And Love.

Leave a Reply

