I Daniel Blake.

 

I went into the cinema already feeling broken and tearful. Unsure if even going to see “ I Daniel Blake “ was even a good idea.
It was a strong hard hitting film; emotionally hard hitting from the start to the end.
Their was hardly a dry eye in the cinema; I left feeling angry and more determined than ever that a system that does not work would not destroy us.
The film follows Daniel Blake being destroyed and humiliated by a system that just cannot afford to care. A system that shows no love and compassion and offers no hope for the future. It’s grim depressing and unrelenting but should be seen by everyone .
I felt the need to protect my broken husband from that system. A system that would lower his self esteem even further, that would cause even more pain and upset.
I worry every day that I will lose my husband to depression. I will not add even more pressure to his life and see him destroyed even further suffering at the hands of the DWP.
He needs his confidence boasted not lowered, he needs to be valued as a person and respected for what he knows and what he can offer society.
He is a wonderful, caring, honest, hard working person and a child of God and loved by God .
I will trust in God to guide me through our dark days and being part of a supportive church family we can survive this a come out the other end.

img_4877

Leave a Reply

