Follow

Day Three – lent challenge – follow

A Christian is one who follows in the footsteps of Jesus Christ. The Greek word follow means “to take the same road” as someone else. A Christian is one who does just that — he follows in the footsteps of Jesus down the same road of life.
People want to follow other people ,we all like to be accepted by others. Some of us seem to need this more than others do. we to want to please other people , we have a natural desire to belong to groups to feel secure in our herd.
Even when we are alone we have social media a place to follow others , we have friends we never meet and friends that are not really are our friends, but we still follow them want to know their thoughts, value their opinions or just plain old nosey.
If a stranger asked me today in the street who do I follow would my answer be Jesus . I would like to think it would be, I know it would be the first thing that came into my head, but would it be the first thing past my lips.
It’s surprising easy to build ourselves a little Christian bubble, a safe place to be surrounded by other Christian’s we can safely talk about Christ and tell them how much we love him and follow him .
But once in the real world the world in which as Christian’s we are sent out to spread the world of God , We sometimes fear what others will think of us.
It’s being brave enough trusting enough to be able to show others what it means to have gods amazing love and to follow him.

John 15:14-15The Message (MSG)

11-15 “I’ve told you these things for a purpose: that my joy might be your joy, and your joy wholly mature. This is my command: Love one another the way I loved you. This is the very best way to love. Put your life on the line for your friends. You are my friends when you do the things I command you. I’m no longer calling you servants because servants don’t understand what their master is thinking and planning. No, I’ve named you friends because I’ve let you in on everything I’ve heard from the Father.

img_5451

 

Leave a Reply

