All things bright and beautiful

Day Thirty Two  – Friendship  – Lent challenge

Walked to work with lots to think about and pray about, I started in tears and ended in smiles and tears.
As I  walked  the hymn  All things bright and beautiful came into my head and I used it as my prayer .
I just said it out loud slowly as I walked , each word  reflecting on Gods  amazing creation all around me. Newly  formed leaves uncurling, the darkness  of winter was being pushed out with the new life, new beginnings, the blossom the bird song everything was sort of saying, how can you possibly be so  sad  and full of tears this morning when surrounded by God  and all his  beauty?
I  remembered we sang All things bright and beautiful at the funeral of a very special  friend , a true friend and a beautiful lady that had a wonderful and a natural earthy connection to our world.
Her green fingers and warm heart left a huge hole in my life when she died.
It was a friendship of over 30 years  she never talked about her faith to me, until I found mine ( I never told her ) , it was like she knew when I found God . She could see the little change in me that others could not .
I visited her regularly, dropping in shopping and just doing little things , we would sit together and just hold hands , it was being together and time together that counted .
She was brave and strong and had been a nurse all her life, she was no stranger to death and  had nursed her husband and sister though cancer.
When  she discovered she had massive lump under her arm , she knew it was cancer, she did not go straight to the doctors, she did not want to  fight a fight she could not win, she excepted her time was up and she had a wonderful life and it was time to go .
When it was obvious that medical help was needed  she went to her GP and requested no treatment only palliative care and that’s what she got .
As the end grew nearer her faith and her love for God was something I had never seen in her before , death seemed to make it more reachable for her, together we  could share a prayer or just pray silently together my faith was still so new to me but offered me great comfort knowing we both felt the love of God.
My friend was many things to me , she was bright and beautiful , definitely wise and wonderful , she always brighten up my sky’s , she was never afraid to use her lips to tell.
We both wore the same glowing colours and the Lord God  made us .

Psalm 118:24 – The LORD has done it this very day; let us rejoice today and be glad.

IMG_6198

Leave a Reply

