Faith and Haffertee.

Day Thirty Four – Journey  – lent challenge

Today I wanted to say thank you to all the people that have helped me on my journey to faith, encouraged me when I did not listen , prayed for me when I did not pray , nurtured the small beginnings and give me the encouragement to grow.
The first step in my journey was being baptised so thank you mum and dad for sorting that bit out.
Thank you for my wonderful grandmother, who filled my life with prayer and prayed with me and for me , the trips to the church yard to tend to the family graves and visits to the church .
Thank you to Mrs Howard for teaching me Psalm 23 , giving me a palm cross each year and showing so much excitement when she talked about her faith.
Thank you to United Reformed Sunday school where each week we would sing When the road is tough and step ( number 66 in the yellow Sing to God book, it’s strange what you remember).
I enjoyed sitting in the back room for bible studies where I would daydream out of the window at the workers on the allotments I am sure I was listening at the same time.
Massive thank you to Janet and John Perkins for reading  Haffertee Hamster Dimond to us in church with Howl Owl and Haffertee , Stories of faith told though the eyes of a hamster, these books have given me and many children in my care great comfort over many many years.
Jump from age Age 10 to 43 with not much faith in my life, but all that time unbeknown to me I was building up an amazing foundation that I could build my faith on.
Thanks to Tina  for seeing the little buds and helping them flower, for believing in me and supporting me though the good days and not so good days .
When I look back I am so grateful for all the people that prayed for me and pointed me softy in the right direction until I was ready myself to find God and change my life around .
Thank  you to everyone I have meet on my journey so far and excited as I journey forwards.

Psalm 23Good News Translation (GNT)

The Lord Our Shepherd[a]
23 The Lord is my shepherd;
I have everything I need.
2 He lets me rest in fields of green grass
and leads me to quiet pools of fresh water.
3 He gives me new strength.
He guides me in the right paths,
as he has promised.
4 Even if I go through the deepest darkness,
I will not be afraid, Lord,
for you are with me.
Your shepherd’s rod and staff protect me.
5 You prepare a banquet for me,
where all my enemies can see me;
you welcome me as an honored guest
and fill my cup to the brim.
6 I know that your goodness and love will be with me all my life;
and your house will be my home as long as I live.

IMG_6095

Leave a Reply

